South Africa’s Mamelodi Sundowns wins fourth consecutive league title

Johannesburg, (SATSports) – Mamelodi Sundowns on Wednesday won a record fourth consecutive South African league title after defeating SuperSport United 3-1 at the Lucas Masterpieces Moripe Stadium in Pretoria.

The defending champions came into the game on the back of a disappointing weekend in which they were eliminated from the CAF Champions League and required three points to confirm their status as league winners.

Sundowns, who have been in imperious form over the course of the season, began the match brightly and had their task made easier as Guily Manziba was sent off for the hosts after just seven minutes.

However, SuperSport did not buckle down and were only thwarted by Sundowns goalkeeper Denis Onyango who pulled off a great save to deny Bradley Grobler in the 28th minute.

The visitors were made to pay four minutes later when Lebohang Maboe slid the ball into the net from Aubrey Modiba’s cross to make it 1-0.

Sundowns doubled their lead 12 minutes later when Modiba’s lofted cross from the right deceived the goalkeeper and went all the way into the back of the net.

Modiba then made a driving run and picked out Themba Zwane who fired high into the net to effectively end the game as a contest before halftime.

Sundowns should have made it 4-0 inside the first 10 minutes of the second half but Zwane’s weak penalty was saved by Ronwen Williams.

With the game in its dying minutes, SuperSport grabbed a surprise consolation when Teboho Mokoena’s sweetly struck effort from outside the box sailed past Onyango.

Victory confirmed the title as it took Sundowns to 60 points, 10 clear of second-placed Amazulu with just three games left. It also showed the club has no domestic hangover following the departure of Pitso Mosimane last year.

The title was also a record-extending 11th crown for Sundowns in the 25-year history of the Premier Soccer League (PSL).

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button