in Southern AfricaJust InSouth Africa

South Africa’s President Ramaphosa urges G7 members to plug COVID-19 funding gap

London, (The Southern African Times) – South Africa’s President Cyril Ramaphosa urged the Group of Seven countries (G7) to help finance the World Health Organization’s programme to boost COVID-19 testing, diagnostics and vaccines, the presidency said on Sunday.

“We need to address the substantial financing gap for tests, treatments, critical supplies like oxygen and the health systems that enable testing, treatment and vaccination,” Ramaphosa said in the presidency statement.

Ramaphosa, who has joined a summit of the club of rich democracies in England and addressed them on Saturday, said the G7 countries, which together account for more than half of global output, should support the Access to COVID-19 Tools Accelerator to plug the $16.8 billion funding gap for this year.

The World Health Organization’s ACT Accelerator programme for global COVID-19 treatments aims to fast-track production and ensure equitable access to tests, treatments, and vaccines in the fight against COVID-19.

“If all G7 countries met their fair share target, this initiative would be two-thirds funded – and it would be 90% funded if all G20 countries made their fair share contributions,” Ramaphosa said.

The president also urged G7 members to support the TRIPS waiver on patents for COVID-19 vaccines and engage in negotiations that could help boost vaccine production.

According to WHO, around 90% of African countries will miss a September target to vaccinate at least 10% of their populations against the virus as a third wave of the pandemic looms on the continent.

So far the continent has registered five million COVID-19 cases, with the southern Africa region being the worst affected, according to Reuters tally.

“If the world is to emerge from this grave crisis, it is essential that we work together to mobilize and direct resources to those countries in the greatest need – and that we do so now,” said Ramaphosa.

The G7 groups the United States, Japan, Germany, Britain, France, Italy and Canada.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button