Zimbabwe granted rights to host ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier

HARARE, (SATSports) – The 2021 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifiers will be staged in Zimbabwe from November 21 to December 5.

The Qualifiers is a 10-team tournament which will determine three qualifiers for the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 which will be held in New Zealand from March 4 to April 3.

The three will join five teams which already qualified through the ICC Women’s Championship namely: Australia, defending champions England, India, South Africa and hosts New Zealand.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) said in a statement on Thursday that the schedule for the tournament will be announced in due course.

The 10 teams taking part in the fifth edition of the qualifiers are: Bangladesh, Ireland, the Netherlands, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Sri Lanka, Thailand, the United States, the West Indies and hosts Zimbabwe.

ICC Head of Events Chris Tetley thanked Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) for agreeing to host the tournament and wished teams all the best in their preparations.

Zimbabwe Cricket chairman Tavengwa Mukuhlani thanked the ICC for granting Zimbabwe the chance to host the tournament adding that they “will leave no stone unturned” in ensuring the success of the event.

“I believe being granted the right to host this tournament is a vote of confidence in what we as ZC are doing and what we are hoping to do,” Mukuhlani said.

“You can rest assured we will not disappoint. We will not disappoint the nation of Zimbabwe and we will not disappoint the game of cricket.”

The tournament will also ensure the three qualifiers and the next two teams guarantee places in the next ICC Women’s Championship (IWC), in addition to the top five teams from the previous edition. The number of teams in the third cycle of the IWC will increase from eight to 10 teams.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button